September project 2, squares 1-5

After stitching my grid, I began filling in the one inch squares. My main objective is to use threads that I have in my stash already, to just start stitching, not graphing every square first (which is what I usually do) and to get really creative.

Nadat ik mijn blokjes had geborduurd, ben ik begonnen met het invullen van de 1 vierkante inch blokjes. Mijn belangrijkste doel is om garen te gebruiken dat ik al heb, om gewoon te beginnen met borduren en niet alles uit te tekenen (dat doe ik normaal gesproken) en om heel creatief bezig te zijn.

Square 1

I first outlined the heart with backstitches and then filled in the background with chain stitches.

Ik heb eerst de contouren van het hartje geborduurd met stiksteekjes en daarna de achtergrond ingevuld met kettingsteken.

Square 2 

A blackwork motif fills the second square, this one I looked up in a book

Een blackwork motiefje voor het tweede vierkantje, dit heb ik uit een boek gehaald.

Square 3

This is a mixture of different stitches, it’s hard to tell in the photo, but I used Herringbone, cross stitch and a sort of loop stitch.

Dit is een mengeling van steken, het is wat moeilijk te zien in de foto, maar ik heb een Herringbone steek, kruissteek en een soort lusjessteek gebruikt.

Square 4

A simple cross stitch motif, but so appropriate for this summer with my new shop and new house.

Een simpel kruissteek motief, maar heel toepasselijk voor deze zomer met mijn nieuwe winkel en nieuwe huis.

Square 5

Inspired by these flowers, I came up with the square below, the flowers are made up of laisy daisies and beads in the middle.

Geinspireerd door deze bloemen, heb ik het onderstaande blokje geborduurd. De bloemen zijn gemaakt met lazy daisies en kraaltjes in het midden.

I am really enjoying this project, it’s a rather different take on stitching than what I usually do. Playing with the threads is so much fun and though the empty square can be a bit daunting, it’s a great challenge to find something to fill it.

Ik geniet echt van dit project, het is behoorlijk anders dan wat ik normaal doe. Met de garens spelen is ontzettend leuk en hoewel het lege vakje soms intimiderend kan zijn, is het een grote uitdaging om iets te vinden om het te vullen.

2 thoughts on “September project 2, squares 1-5

Leave a Reply

