Summer reading

These past weeks I have been reading a lot. Before I call it a day, I like to spend a while with a good book. This year, I decided to put a dent in the unread books in my library. I started out with a book by English couple writers Nikki French “What to do when somebody dies”. It took me a little while to get really into the book, but once I was caught, I couldn’t wait to see what would happen.

What to Do When Someone Dies

Next up was a book that has been on my list for quite a while. It’s The Shadow of the Wind by Spanish author Carlos Ruiz Záfon. It took me a while to be able to buy the book, I knew what the story was about, but couldn’t remember the author’s name or the title of the book. And apparently all the booksellers I asked, couldn’t help me with just the story🙂. Which is a pity, as it’s a wonderful book to read. Hard to put down.

The Shadow of the Wind

Next up was Bread Alone, I bought it because I liked it that it took place in Seattle and that it was about a little bakery. If you are into making bread, this is a must read. If you are in for a good book, this is a must read. The book has several recipes apart from the great story.

Bread Alone: A Novel

To give you an idea of what else is up for reading this summer, here’s a picture of the books I hope to read.

If you have any suggestions, I’d love to hear them.

3 thoughts on “Summer reading

  1. The Lady and the Unicorn is a great book. Have you already read the othe booky by Tracy Chevalier? They are just as great. And so are Jodi Picoult’s books. I particularly loved 19 Minutes.

  2. Go for some lovely antique romance: Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen.

    Or some bloodclotting thrillers by Deon Meyer. A southafrican writer whose books are translated in english and in dutch (and more).

    Or..not translated: Waar is de tachtigjarige oorlog gebleven…Jan Blokker. Funny, witty…

Leave a Reply

