She is back.

It’s been a while. Quite a while. And I found that once you haven’t blogged in a while, it’s sort of hard to get started again. But it’s summer, the sun is shining, a lot of things are happening and it’s time to share them.

In case you are wondering where I have been, well, this has been one of my destinations in the past couple of weeks.

Arusha National Park – Tanzania

And I have been here:

Ngorongoro National Park – Tanzania

And here as well:

Serengeti National Park – Tanzania

And finally, here as well:

Manyara National Park – Tanzania

In case you are wondering who my travel companions were:

The four of us in front of a huge boabap tree.

And in case you are having trouble recognizing everybody:

From left to right: DB, dad, SIL, me and our guide Stephen.

Yep, I have been on a safari trip to Tanzania and it was wonderful. I am still amazed at how close the animals came and how beautiful they are. We saw the Big Five (elephant, lion, leopard, buffelo and rhino) but also many, many other animals. My dad and I fell in love with the giraffes. Such graceful and elegant animals. Apart from all the animals we saw, we had the best time together.

Hardly any stitching was done during the trip. I stitched some on the plane to Kilimanjaro and a very little while being in Tanzania. Usually, I was a) too tired to do anything or b) the lighting wasn’t good enough. We had to get up at 5-5.30am, be in the jeep around 7 and were back at the lodge around 6-7pm. Needless to say, we were pooped by the end of the day, and in bed around 9pm. Also, not having the chance to read email is also very relaxing🙂.

Back home, it was a bit of a shock to realize that the weather had been much warmer in the Netherlands than it had been in Tanzania. It was incredibly warm here, around 32 degrees, some days even more. In the past 2 weeks I haven’t stitched much either, because it was simply too warm to do anything. Fortunately, the weather is cooling down and  I have picked up my stitching as well. More about that in the next post.

9 thoughts on “She is back.

  1. Hi Annemiek, you made a wonderful journey! By the way: we had up to 40 degrees here in Limburg!
    I discovered ‘feeds’ so I can visit more ‘regularly’!

  2. Hey Annemiek,
    Leuk dat je terug bent! En wat een reis zeg! Tanzania … da’s n’s wat anders dan Frankrijk, Engeland, ..😉
    Veel plezier nog (en met hopelijk nog wat vakantie)!
    Groetjes,
    Ann in België

  3. Wow Annemiek! What a trip! Definitely something special, the country but also to share all these experiences with your family!
    groetjes uit Chicago!

  4. Hoi Annemiek, dat ziet eruit als een once in a lifetime vacation!!
    Ik hoop dat jullie allemaal genoten hebben en nog lang kunnen genieten van de foto’s.
    Een fijn weekend,

    Groetjes Yvon.

Leave a Reply

