May project – day 1, 2, and 3

May here in the Netherlands means for me that I have some additional days off. We have a couple of holidays which will hopefully ensure that I have a bit more stitching time than normally. I have a couple of projects lined up and would love to start them, but I have told myself I need to finish Crazy Alphabet first as well as another project I am working on.

However, there is one exception (after all, there always has to be an exception to the rule). Ever since I saw this design by Plum Street Designs, I have been longingly looked at it and wanting to stitch it.

This is The Queen’s Crowns, and it has a total of 41 crowns. As my last name means “king” I thought this would make an appropriate project🙂. Also, we have the most gorgeous Italian linen in the shop (48 count but it is actually quite easy to stitch on) and I wanted to have a model with this linen, so I figured I could kill two birds with one stone.

May has 31 days (it doesn’t take a genius to figure that out) and I calculated that I have about 10 days off (Sundays and other holidays), so if I stitch one crown per day and two on the days where I don’t have to go to work, this should be done by the end of May 31st. Of course, somewhere in between I have to stitch the lines as well and I have to figure out what to stitch on the Gloriana line, but hey, those are details. My plan sounds pretty good to me.

So here is my progress so far, 4 crowns, one for Saturday, two for Sunday and one for Monday. I already discovered the hard way that as there is quite a bit of spacing between the crowns, it is very easy to miscount. Haven’t completely figured out yet how to make that easier, but a few basting lines may be in order. I am using a handdyed Tentakulum soie surfine.

The colors don’t look very realistic, but it’s a wonderful combination.

5 thoughts on “May project – day 1, 2, and 3

  1. Pingback: The Queen’s Crowns are done! « Once upon a Stitch

Leave a Reply

