25 days of Christmas – day 7

Diner Saturday evening was a success. I cooked chile con and without carne as my DB and SIL are vegetarians. I subsituted the meat for feta cheese and they claimed it was quite delicious. We had applesauce made by my parents as well as their currant juice in the desert. They really make the best juices for deserts.

After dinner and the dishes (I have a wonderful DB who helped me with the dishes, no dishwasher in this house), we settled down for coffee with “borstplaat” (a combination of real butter, sugar and additives like chocolate or caramel) as well as ginger cookies. Friday evening I had baked these cookies and they were really quite good.

You might wonder what’s so special about baking cookies that it requires a photo of its own. My oven is tiny, and I mean really tiny. So I can only bake 9 cookies at a time. The cookies had to be in the oven for 15 minutes, had to cool down and then another batch could go in. I did five batches. They were really worth it though.

All in all, it was a very enjoyable evening and I might be inclined to organize another diner party for the family.

Now as far as stitching was concerned, I did none on Saturday evening. After the family left, I was simply too tired to pick up a needle. Fortunately, I have a huge box of WIP’s, so it is no problem to share another one. This is Albemarle by Stitchin’Spirations. I am stitching this on 50count linen with a handdyed soie surfine. I haven’t worked on it for a while, but now that I saw it again, I am really tempted to give it a few more hours. We’ll see what the remaining days of December 2009 will bring.

Leave a Reply

