The 25 days of Christmas (with a twist)

December crept up on me, I had a really bad cold last week and somehow that week went by without me noticing it🙂. I really love December, the atmosphere, the Christmas decorations, the carols, the smells, and of course my Christmas stitching.

As I have neglected this weblog the past month, I thought I’d do a 25 days of Christmas in December. Every day I will post one of my WIP’s or one of the projects I managed to finish this month. It’s a busy month, so I don’t know how much time for stitching I will have, but I do know that there are more than enough projects lurking in the closet, who’d love to have a chance of seeing some daylight.

As I am a wee bit late with this, today I’ll show two projects, one for yesterday and one for today. The first is Christmas Elegance by Milady’s Needle. It is going to be stitched on 40 count silk gauze with Gloriana and Belle Soie threads.

If you take a good look, you can actually see the shadows below the silk gauze. I really enjoy working on silk gauze, for me the only disadvantage is covering the background and even that is not bad at all. It’s quite relaxing once you have done the actual motifs. I’ll have to measure how tiny this will be, but believe me, it’s a wee Christmas Tree.

The project for today is my beloved Countdown to Christmas by Blue Ribbon Designs. I must admit I have seriously underestimated how long it takes to stitch just one motif. You’d figure that in a space of 24 x 23 stitches, stitching a motif can’t take that long, but you’d be wrong. Or I am just slow getting them done. I think it takes me on average about 1.5-2 hrs per motif. I honestly thought that I could whip up at least 2 motifs per evening stitching session, but alas, it’s not meant to be.

Having said that, I must say that the project itself is wonderful. I truly enjoy working on it and have told myself that I should just enjoy the stitching and not worry so much about how much time it takes. If I keep up the good work, I will have an Advent Calendar ready in 2010.

Here are the numbers 1-12 and their motifs.

Now my challenge to you would be, are you brave enough to admit you have 25 WIP’s? Or maybe you are better at staying focused than I am and you can do a 12 days of Christmas. My idea is to do the same thing next year and see what happened to these 25 WIP’s. Now some of them I’d rather finish this month, but I know that some will take me quite a bit longer.

And for those who have asked in the past months, yes, there will be an update on my Ultimate Cross Stitch Challenge. We will get together in December and I will post a picture of what my big, big sampler looks like. That’ll be one of the 25 WIP’s for this month :0)

3 thoughts on “The 25 days of Christmas (with a twist)

  1. I just love your Christmas tree on the silk gauze. I’ve got a couple patterns that call for that, but have been afraid to try it (meaning I’m afraid I’ll go blind). It does look lovely though. And isn’t it funny that things we think won’t take long at all seem to take the longest. It may be because we anticipate them being done in a flash, but that’s not the case. I do really like your Advent Calendar piece though! And yes, I’ll be brave enough to admit that I have 25 WIPs. I’m trying to get better, but seems like I always pick BAPs to work on and those never get done quickly.

  2. What fabric are you using for Countdown to Christmas? I have the chart and ordered the recommended fabric (Magnolia by Lakeside Linens) It is really yellow while the pictures all make the fabric look white. I don’t know if I like the fabric and have been toying with ordering something different.

  3. Pingback: My parents’ annual Christmas gift « Once upon a Stitch

Leave a Reply

