Countdown to Christmas part 2

Last week our Countdown to Christmas group met again and everybody had made quite a bit of progress with this interesting piece. I have to admit, stitching the gridlines for the calendar was a bit boring at times. But now that it’s done, I can concentrate on the fun part. Stitching 70 little blocks, backstitch around each one of them and then adding either numbers or motifs.

CtCgrid

What I absolutely love about this piece is that you are able to change some motifs you might not like, change the upper part of the gridlines if you feel like it or use the motifs for small ornaments. Aka, the designer has managed once again to deliver a very versatile design.

Here’s my progress so far. As you can see, I am trying hard to work on the little boxes before I fill them in. The numbers are easy peasy to do and give such a sense of accomplishment. I am still playing around with my threads. The numbers are done in 1089 Threadworx, I think this is my all time favorite Christmas red thread. I will get a different color for the Pine thread as it is too close to the Blue Spruce one. Haven’t decided yet which color that will be.

CtCornaments

I hope that I will be able to stitch one box every day, so that by the end of the summer my little boxes are all done and ready to put together.

2 thoughts on “Countdown to Christmas part 2

  1. What fabric are you using? I ordered the one they stitched the model on and it looks so yellow compared to the chart.

Leave a Reply

