Recipes: simple broccoli soup

I am by no means a kitchen queen, not even a princess for that matter. For me, preparing meals has to be quick and easy. There’s just not enough time in my schedule to spend hours in the kitchen. I do try to eat as healthy as I can though, meaning lots of veggies, not to many carbs and I limit the amount of meat.

During the summer though, I am more inclined to experiment with recipes and see which ones I like. One day I hope to do menu planning for the whole week, but I’m not at that point yet. Anyway, I disgress, today’s recipe is all about broccoli. If you don’t like this veggie, you might want to skip this post alltogether LOL.

Here are the ingredients:

soup

2 heads of broccoli
1 large cooked potato (or several small ones in a can)
125 gr ham
cream

Oops, almost forgot:

soup1

Now remember, I am no cheff, not even an accomplished hobby cook, so this recipe is just how it works for me.

1. Cook the broccoli for about 5-6 minutes.
2. Boil water and use 3/4 liter for the soup.
3. Add beef cube to water (according to taste, I used 2).
4. Add broccoli and potato to stock and use your blender or hand mixer to complete liquify the substance.
5. Add cream to soup (I used 4 tablespoons), stir well.
6. Add ham.

Your soup will look hopefully something like this. If it doesn’t, please don’t email me, I wouldn’t have the foggiest idea what went wrong🙂.

soup2

The soup is a thick substance, which I love to eat with a bread roll with pesto and some grated cheese (just grill for a few minutes). I can eat 3 times from this amount, but that will of course depend on the amount of broccoli and water you used.

I have put one part in the freezer and have no idea whether that will work or not. I’ll keep you updated. Since it is sooooooo green, I was wondering if you called it Harry Potter soup (or one of those disgusting sounding names they have for food in the books) if kids would eat it. After all, it doesn’t really resemble broccoli anymore.

Bon appetit!

Leave a Reply

