The Goode Huswife

A long time ago, Anne from The Goode Huswife published wonderful charts. I can really hit myself for not buying more of them and keeping more of them. In the early days of the shop I could still get them from our distributor, I wish I had ordered more for myself. Anne retired from designing a couple of years ago and fortunately, decided last year to pick it up again.

In my stash I have several of her older charts and this particular one is one that has always been on my list of to stitch items. It’s fairly simple, but I love the color combination. As it is solidly stitched, it will take a while to get it done, but that doesn’t matter.

tghninepatch

Nine Patch Pincushion – The Goode Huswife

Fabric: 40ct Cloud Brown linen

Threads: DMC as charted

I want to finish this into a sweet little pincushion and might stitch one or two of the center patches for a scissor fob. It’ll be a while though, there are approximately 3025 stitches as you have to stitch the whole background, but that’s ok. It’s very relaxing to stitch. Not too much counting, once you have done the black, the rest is easier. Next picture will be a bit bigger, promised.

3 thoughts on “The Goode Huswife

  1. This is going to be so pretty! I know what you mean about buying the GH charts back when they were available. I’m still kicking myself for not picking up more of them because I want them. Thank goodness Anne is releasing some again. I think she’s releasing the whole Colonial Garden Series later this year.

  2. I think the pincushion is a great idea. When something is so small, my mind flicks to pincushion too, or biscornu, which I’ve never made one myself but I plan on making one.

    I have two very small pieces of quilt blocks that were the first I had ever machine pieced. My aunt taught me years ago and these two pieces were my testing scraps. Well, I never got rid of them. I think to allow them as keepsakes (hence my blog title), I’ll make them into a biscornu and keep them laying around on my craft table. My mom gave me the idea so I can’t take all the credit.😀

Leave a Reply

