Thursday Thunder

This is a day late, but yesterday was my birthday and there was so much to do at the famous other job and then in the shop, that I didn’t have a chance to sit down and write a blog post.

Olympic update: We got twomore medals, one for another judoka, Henk Grol, and a silver medal for the dressage team. I heard just this morning that Anky van Grunsven will stop with her horse Salinero after these games, which I think is a shame. She’s one of my favorite sportswomen.

Unfortantely, Marleen Veldhuis didn’t win any medal and had a rather poor race. Of course that’s easy to say when you don’t have to swim yourself, but we all (herself included) thought she’d be good for a medal, maybe even a gold one.

The hockey teams are doing great, both men and women. As this is a team sport (obviously) it will take a while before we know whether they will win a medal or not.

Today I won’t have much time to watch the Olympics, lots of stuff to do and I need to go by Ikea to see if they have two vases that I want to have in my living room.

Stitching:

Thursdays is all about my UFO’s. And let me tell you, I have quite a few. They are tucked away in drawers, so they’re out of sight. And as long as I don’t open those said drawers too often, I don’t hear them screaming for attention. Isn’t that what you do with a child who keeps whining about something? Just ignore them? I do plan however to let them out of their drawers in the near future and either share them here with you, or ditch them.

Yep, that is right, ditch them. I figure if they are still a UFO after all these years (did I just admit that I have UFO’s that are more than a year old?), and if I don’t like them enough anymore to work on them, I might as well get rid of them. Might be that I will make an announcement here, so if you are looking to adopt a needlework project any time soon, keep watching.

Today’s UFO though, is one that I WILL finish one day. I just figure if I keep saying that often enough, it will happen. It’s Moulin Rouge by Long Dog and I started it a loooooooooooong time ago. I am using 100/3 silk from Au ver a Soie on 40 count ivory Newcastle. It is a wonderful design and I really long to have a Quaker sampler in my home.

I think the reason I don’t work on it anymore is that it’s a huge piece of fabric (ahum, I just realize that my UBU is a much bigger piece of fabric……..) and that wasn’t working for me. Maybe now that I am working on my UBU I am not so scared anymore of a large piece of fabric. Maybe I should unroll it and work on it every once in a while. Maybe I will win the lottery and can quit my famous other job…….

This is the upright corner of the design, I don’t think I have even managed to get 1 page stitched.

Anyway, this is how far my confession this time will go. This evening I will write about Fabulous Fridays.

4 thoughts on “Thursday Thunder

  1. Maybe you could try the one strand method with some of your UFOs? ie, you stitch at least one strand on a chosen UFO before you stitch on your current project.

    If you do decide to let some of them go, I would definitely post them here or maybe on Legacy as I am sure that you have projects people would love to adopt!

  2. I’ve just had a sort through of all my craft boxes and found lots of UFO’s. Some of them I had forgotten I had started. That’s the trouble with moving, they get packed away and forgotten. Have to decide now which ones to work on, so I know how you feel. I am sure you would find homes for them if you decided you didn’t want to continue with them.
    This one looks lovely, be great completed

Leave a Reply

