Let the Olympic Games begin!

I must admit I am a sports junky. Not so much doing sports myself (mind you, you might get exhausted and besides, have you ever tried running and stitching at the same time?), but wachting sports on TV. Soccer is one of my favorite sports to watch, but I enjoy ice skating, tennis, swimming, volleybal, basket bal and athletics as well. My preferred sports are those where the participants aren’t moving too quickly and where the replay is always necessary. The reason? Simply, it’s the sport I can watch best while stitching.

Take soccer for example, it’s quite clear to me. After all, how entertaining can 22 men be for 90 minutes? That’s a loooooooong time. With soccer however, you can train your ears to notice the moments when something watchable is taking place. The public will be louder and the reporter will also give you clues. And if for some reason, you missed it the first time, there’s always the replay! All in all, I really don’t understand why not every stitcher out there wants to watch soccer with her partner. You can give your partner the impression you are doing something for him (i.e. watching a soccer game) and in the meantime you can do what you like best: stitching.

The Olympic Games are slightly more difficult to watch while stitching. After all, if the 100m men takes less than 10 seconds, you surely don’t want to miss it, do you? So, you have to watch from start to finish. Since it’s only 10 seconds, you are missing out let’s say 2-4 stitches. That’s not too bad. The 100m free style swimming takes a little longer, and unless a fellow country man or woman is participating in the finals, I can stitch for about 40 seconds and watch the final 8 seconds to see who will win.

The upcoming Olympics will prove to be quite a challenge for me to see as much as possible while stitching as much as possible. Whereas the athletes only have to focus on their own sport, I have to focus on all 31 different sports. I have to find out which ones I really want to watch, which ones I want to watch while stitching and which ones I can just read about in the newspaper. Not an easy task I can tell you and it takes quite a bit of training and practice to be succesfull.

Maybe even more important than watching the games, is what to STITCH while watching the games. Shall I start a new project, shall I dedicate my TV time to a UFO, shall I decide to work on one project all the time or shall I alternate my projects as the sports alternate as well? And I have to keep in mind that the stitching shouldn’t be too complicated as I will glance up from my work frequently.

I have decided to start one new project to start the offical opening of the Olympic Games. Time will tell how far I will be able to get during these OG. And to challenge myself even further, I plan to blog every single day of the OG! Yes, that’s right, every single day. That’s 17 posts in just as many days. I have assigned a theme to every day of the week:

Simmering Saturdays- recipes and who knows some stitching progress

Successful Sundays – a finished project

Monday Madness – kitting up something new

Terrific Tuesday – progress on an ongoing project

Wishful Wednesday – sharing a project I wished I had time for

Thursday Thunder – showing one of my many UFO’s

Fabulous Friday – sharing whatever will make me feel fabulous

Today however, I will share the project that I will start this evening. The opening ceremony will take place while I’m still in the shop, but there will be a summary, no doubt J. So, to mark the official start of the OG, I will start…….


I must admit I am a sports junky. Not so much doing sports myself (mind you, you might get exhausted), but wachting sports on TV. Soccer is one of my favorite sports to watch, but I enjoy ice skating, tennis, swimming, volleybal, basket bal and athletics as well. My preferred sports are those where the participants aren’t moving too quickly and where the replay is always necessary. The reason? Simply, it’s the sport I can watch best while stitching.

I kitted this up a while back when I had a bad case of starteritis. And most folks who know me, know I have a weakness for stitching houses, so how could I resist this cutie.

Check back tomorrow for a quick, easy and healthy recipe that’s perfect for the OS.

2 thoughts on “Let the Olympic Games begin!

Leave a Reply

