I have the best mom!

Now of course, I already knew I have the best mom there is. She’s a pretty special lady, working in the shop 2-3 days a week, doing nummerous jobs at all times of the day, all days of the week, letting me go on a vacation while she keeps the shop open, yes, I do have a really special mom.

But two weeks ago, she did something that was even more special. My mom FROGGED for me. Now if that doesn’t show you how much she loves me, I don’t know what will. It’s one thing to stitch something for somebody, but to FROG for somebody…….. That’s really amazing.

What had happened? While I had the flue in March I started Lisianthus pocket by Periwinkle Promises. Delusional from fever I thought I could finish it in two weeks straight. Hah, hah,hah. Need I say more? On top of my disappointment that I wouldn’t be able to finish it in time, I discovered I had miscounted and would need to frog the first two panels. Arghhhhhhhhh. It was too much at the time and I just put it in a drawer, not to be seen until the summer.

Fast forward a couple of months and it is July and summer is about half way over. And since I wanted this pocket to be one of the workshops in the fall, I’d better get it out of the drawer and into my stitching rotation. And kept wondering if I would really have to frog the two panels or if I could work my way around it (which I am pretty good at, working my way around it, I just hate to frog). But since the panels had to match up with other panels, it really had to be frogged.

And here’s where my mom comes in. I asked if she’d be willing to frog for me, so I could spend my stitching hours on something else and she said, sure, no problem. Only thing she wouldn’t do was salvage the threads. Imagine that LOL. So I got it back a week later, minus two panels and this is how it looked.

And here is what it looks like now. I spent most of my stitching time working on this pocket. It’s an absolute joy to work on, except I have done more Smyrna Crosses than I care to count. I am almost done with the stitching and can then proceed to putting it together. Which is all done by hand, which means I will be able to do it.

I hope that this weekend I’ll be able to get at least all of the stitching done and who knows, I might even start with the finishing.

Just one more day before they Olympics will start, I am really looking forward. Come back tomorrow for some Olympic blogging news.

2 thoughts on “I have the best mom!

Leave a Reply

