Vacation stitching

My week off is almost over, there is just one more day left. I really enjoyed myself, we visited a supplier in Germany, I had time to do some work in the studyroom and I stitched. Though not nearly as much as I thought I’d be able to do. That happens quite often to me, when I am at the start of a week off, I think I can do sooooooo much. It always turns out that I have more plans than time.

But I did finish part 6 of Rosina Luger. It’s been a while since I stitched on this amazing project and I had forgotten how much fun it is. I want to do some more work on her during the summer and then hopefully keep up during the rest of the year.

The design is stitched in Soie d’Alger on 30 count linen banding. Just 34 more parts to go.

A couple of weeks ago we visited another German supplier, this time Vauple & Heilenbeck. They make the wonderful linen banding that we sell in the shop. I really love their banding, all the different colors, shapes and sizes. They had invited several German designers to show their work and we had a great time.

Their warehouse is in the middle of the city, quite amazing.

This is the place where Christiane Dahlbeck from Fingerhut had her little booth. She always has the most amazing ideas for finishing.

And here is a picture of most of the stitching of the book Immer Gruen (Always Green).

And lastly a picture of where all the banding is stored. There are rows and rows of banding.

Needless to say, we went home with a big box of goodies. I will post some pictures of our last trip later this week.

I am trying to get ready to go back to work tomorrow. At least during the summer, it’s not that busy and you can really get some “thinking” work done.

Leave a Reply

